Soho hummus

A dish of hummus

Down memory lane in London’s Soho. 1978, unmarried, pregnant, I saw a poster in a funky vegetarian cafe’s noticeboard that changed my life.

Fast forward to 2008. I walked past Food for Thought (it’s still there!) and smiled nostalgically. I did not stop as I was on my way to the 24/7 internet cafe, Netstream.

Starving at 2pm on Wardour Street I found my dream eaterie, Hummus Bros. If you love hummus and in London, you have to go.

Hummus Bros serve each dish (see pic) with a free and unexpected egg, a choice of rye bread (from Fresh and Wild) instead of the traditional pita bread, chilli relish, extra lemon juice and if that wasn’t enough love, a complimentary glass of mint tea made with the fresh herb.

One of my top fave foods, hummus is both comforting and nourishing. It packs protein by combining plant foods. Two different plant groups roughly equals one complete protein, and hummus, with pita, offers three: chickpeas (bean), tahini (seed), and the pita bread (grain).

I yearn to tell you how to make hummus at home because it will be a lifelong friend. The cooked (high fibre, low-GI) chickpeas are mixed in a blender to a creamy gunk with olive oil, lemon juice, a bit of garlic and tahini – now that’s a convenience food I approve of. I also prize tinned organic chickpeas as a larder-friend. (So there, Delia.)

Cooking from scratch saves money and takes planning (beans need an overnight soak and one hour of cooking). This recipe explains it really well. I have never used yogurt, as it suggests. Must try.

6 responses to “Soho hummus

  1. Elizabeth, thank you for that lovely post.

    You seem like a true hummus lover (I suspect that you might find some interest in my blog…) so I should tell you that the recipe you linked too has too little tahini in it.

    Actually, the olive oil is not part of the original hummus recipe and is only replacing some of the tahini, which is more expensive outside the middle east. In Israel, for example, half a kilogram of the best tahini only costs about 1 pound.

    Also, the tinned organic chickpeas is a bluff. Chickpeas nutritional virtues (and taste) are completely lost when conserved.

    Like

  2. An alternative hummus ingredient: When I used to make hummus at the Tobacco Factory I would also add some red peppers, normally precooked and preserved in olive oil but i’m sure you could cook fresh and use them instead.
    Voila, red pepper hummus.

    Like

  3. I love getting comments! Thanks for the alternative, Chloe. It also permits me to share my fave added taste which is ground cumin (added at end of blending). As for the tinned chick peas, I am glad the Hummus Guy told me their nutritional value is low. I can believe it – hummus made with tinned chickpeas (even when organic) just do not taste REAL. (Tinned chickpeas work well in a casserole or curry though). I can add MORE tahini? Yum -great tip.

    Like

  4. that hummus looks like the real middle-eastern deal!

    none of this tasteless £1.50 for 100grams at Tesco tasteless crap. but, what, no pitta bread?

    PS don’t forget the pickles on the side

    Like

  5. Of course you can ass more tahini – the more the merrier. It is very important though to go for the best tahini you can lay your hands on. Try lookin in Lebanese groceries. I also had some Greek tahini once that was nice (the best tahini is made in Shechem (they have about a dozen varieties . Unfortunately you can’t find it outside the middle-east.

    Like

  6. Pingback: I love hummus « Real Food Lover

What do YOU think? Do tell...

