St Werburgh’s City Farm Café, Bristol

Paul Burton, chef, at St Werburgh\'s city farm cafe

Lucky me. To get to this Observer ethical award-winning café from my home, all I have do is walk ten minutes through the allotments.

Here is chef, Paul Burton, holding my lunch – the aioli is homemade, with fennel from the next-door city farm and smoked mackerel from Cornwall. Paul used to work at Café Maitreya (another Bristol award-winning eaterie) and now he is a business partner in St Werburgh’s city farm café.

Note its hippy-trippy Hobbit-like décor, courtesy of artisan builders, Bristol Gnomes.

I wish I had a photo of the café’s owner, Leona Williamson, because she too has an ethereal quality – but like all fairies, she has power too.

When cooking in the Local Food Hero competition, she came up with a new concoction, with one hour to spare.

She made goat and beetroot sausage with a three-root mash (celeriac, potato and Jerusalem artichoke), and wowed the judges, Jay Rayner, Xanthe Clay and Gary Rhodes. The goat came from the city farm.

So impressed was Jay that he put her forward for the Observer‘s ethical awards.

It was Leona’s idea to use the animals on the city farm for food.

I totally approve.

Far better to be a conscious meat-eater that respects the animals than not give a thought to how they fared when alive.

These darling creatures currently living on the city farm may well end up in one of Leona’s famous goat stews. Reader, is this OK with you?

Bristol\'s St Werburgh\'s city farm goats

5 responses to “St Werburgh’s City Farm Café, Bristol

  1. I cannot spiritually understand eating meat, unless there is no other sustenance around. However, the taste buds, ingrained by centuries of European tradition, call out for it from time to time. For some reason, lamb goes down a treat but any other meat is too acidic.
    Fish, for some reason, I can countenance eating. Logical? Not so much.

    Like

  2. How can you call the goats “darling creatures” then approve of ending their lives so they can be chopped into small pieces so you can shove parts of these goats in your mouth! You are a sick fucker. You are a serial killer and i would like to chop you up into small pieces but firstly cut your throat and while you are terrified wait until you slowly die…oh! then eat you.

    Like

    • I know. It is a total contradiction. I don’t understand it either which is why I don’t often eat meat. However, I think it is important to emphasise meat comes from a once-living animal. The more we are aware of this reality, the more likely we are to treat animals better. And the more likely that people will choose to eat less/no meat.

      Like

    • I would also like to add that I did not eat the goat. I am sorry my post induced such a violent response.

      Like

    • Hey Emma,
      I just came upon this entry of yours and had to response. I think it is fantastic that you care so much for the well being of animals – I’m with you – it is a wonderful cause that needs warrior spirits to stand for it. But the violence in you is startling! and as ugly as the cause you stand for is beautiful. It is not for nothing that the great teachers tell us “if you want to change the world, change yourself”, “if you want peace, be peaceful”. I hope you can believe an old hand in the world of activism when I say, you will achieve your end far more powerfully if you are able to do it peacefully. Good luck.

      Like

What do YOU think? Do tell...

