Fast fish dish

ling-and-sprouting-broccoli

This fish dish had to be fast as it was 11pm at night and we were all tired.

I sliced several shallots thinly and fried them gently in olive oil, with the heat turned right down and the lid on. Using a lid is my new habit; it retains heat so ups a dish’s eco-credits,  as well as moisture and flavour. Win/win/win…

Still in my macrobiotic-mood, I slivered an inch of peeled raw healthy ginger in with the onions. Then I placed the fresh fish fillets on its bed of onions and back went the lid.

I figure the fish cooks by a combination of steam and heat from the aromatic stewing onions. If you can add some scientific know-how, please do!

I had bought the fillets of ling that morning from David Felce, one of two fab fishmongers at Bristol Farmers’ market. Although from the endangered cod family, the ling is line-caught, a method that does not net a ton of other fish at the same time, (then discarded wastefully).

Ling is not considered glamorous but please ignore this illusionary hierarchy of fish. Seasonal and fresh, its flesh is firm, white and flavoursome.

Meanwhile I steamed my beloved purple sprouting broccoli from Radford Mill organic farm shop, having sliced its woody stems into smaller tubes so they would be soft enough to eat.

Purple sprouting broccoli is in season from January to May when other UK-grown greens are sparse, according to my much-recommended Riverford Farm Cook Book.

I had some miso paste left over (a tablespoon of miso blended with water) and added it to the pan with about 50mls of water, for extra flavour.

We served it with organic spelt bread bought at the Common Loaf stall – who make their bread with love and the best raw ingredients-ever – also from the farmers’ market.

And voila, after 20 minutes, the dish was ready. Fast-enough for you?

P.S. The next day I had the pleasure of meeting and having lunch with a fellow blogger, Helen, from Haddock in the Kitchen. Helen was over from France visiting her lovely daughter Holly.

We ate freshly-cooked food at Zazu’s Kitchen – heartily recommended.

We chose frittatta (omelette and potatoes and herbs) and salads (including my adored lentils). I pictured my lunch with Helen’s kind gift, a pot of honey, or miel, comme on dit en français.

The honey was made by a friend of Helen’s in France.  Oooooh I absolutely love real honey.

zazzus-2409

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

6 responses to “Fast fish dish

  1. Thanks for the link, Elisabeth, and what a delicious sounding dish!

    Like

  2. This dish sounds perfect for cooking on a Thai BBQ…I brought one home for my daughter a couple of years ago…its a wonderful invention (I actually bought if from an outdoor food establishment that specialized in this type of cooking) I couldn’t find a shop that sold them anywhere so I improvised and bought the BBQ as well as my dinner one evening much to the amusement of the Thais .. (explaining my desire to the waitress and negotiating the price wasn’t straightfoward……I think they thought i was offering to do the washing up?) … The device looks like an upturned jelly ring attached to an upsidedown collinder and it sits on a special cast iron charcoal burner… the marinaded fish cooks on the holey bit directly above the charcoal… and the ring is filled with stock which boils gently around the sides of the domed grill so it collects all the fish juices chanelled down cleverly designed grooves … you can boil your veg, prawns and glass noodles in the delicious reducing elixir around the edges and scoop them out when they are done to your liking …….. its perfect for cooking fish and veg at the same time and takes only a few minuits too…not even 5… marinade your fish in fresh herbs chilli, ginger and soya for half an hour while you light your charcoal and off you go….its very impressive especially if you are a dab hand with chop sticks……. morning glory greens are especially tasty cooked like this and make the perfect accompliment to grilled fish!

    Like

  3. Claire, thanks for your organic veg box response!

    Pandora, I love the sound of that ‘delicious reducing elixir’. Marinading is a brilliant idea and tenderises the fish so will also reduce cooking time – genius. You paint a comic picture of your efforts to get the BBQ – which does sound ingenious. Is it anything like this one?
    http://tinyurl.com/cc77fk

    Like

  4. Oh wow you found the Thai BBQs on line I never thought to look on line….probably would have been a lot cheaper exercise than going over there eh…. but not so much fun!….The one I bought came complete with remnants of authentic Thai cooking on it and was totally blackened……. When I washed it I found out it was made out of a strange goldy coloured metal …goodness knows what it is must be some kind aluminum mixed with an aloy of some sort luckily its not very heavy or I might have had to pay extra on my baggage.

    Like

  5. sounds utterly delicious – very inspiring x

    Like

  6. Hi, good post. I have been pondering this topic,so thanks for sharing. I will definitely be coming back to your blog.

    Like

What do YOU think? Do tell...

