Beetroot and carrot soup

Beetroot and carrot soup

When I say I am a food writer, people assume I am a gourmet foodie, a superior being who will look down my refined nose at their offerings.

Nothing could be further from the truth.

The reality is I am an everyday, sloppy, how-quickly-can-I-eat-well cook.

My concerns lie not with how food looks, or how unusual or exotic its ingredients are but rather how healthy are they and how they were grown.

I want to demystify cooking not put it on an pedestal.

So this soup could indeed be my ‘signature’ dish. It’s comfort food made with locally and organically-grown vegetables, it took me about half-an-hour to make, is healthy and tasty.

I cut an onion and sweated their slices in olive oil in a medium-size saucepan with a lid on. I washed but did not peel the 2 large beetroots, ditto the 5-6 carrots. I chopped carrots and beetroot in inch-bites because the smaller you cut ’em, the quicker they cook.

I added the chopped veg to the softening onions, and added 3-4 mugfuls of water (one mugful=1/2 pint), and simmered it for 20 minutes, with the lid on.

I did not add salt. Both beetroot and carrot are so sweet, what other taste is needed?

I did add black pepper. And I whizzed it with my £20 handheld electric blender because I am a bit of a baby and like eating mushy-comfort food.

Escoffier, I ain’t.

So have no fear, past and future dinner hosts!

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

11 responses to “Beetroot and carrot soup

  1. Pingback: Beetroot and carrot soup | Be Happiness

  2. Crikey! Just looking at the color of this soup is giving my antioxidents a right boost.

    Like

  3. Ha ha – wish you could hear me laugh out loud, Phil.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Beetroot and carrot soup | Better Well-Being

  5. Pingback: Learn - Vegetables

  6. Pingback: Miss Vickie’s Big Book of Pressure Cooker Recipes | Cooking Tips

  7. Pingback: The How-To Book of Healthy Cooking | Cooking Tips

  8. Pingback: Again with the stuffed mushrooms… | Food-Rave

  9. Pingback: How to Cook Vegetables : Preparing Asparagus for Healthy Cooking Recipes | Cooking Tips

  10. Pingback: Four Reasons to Cook With a Clay Baker | Cooking Tips

  11. Thanks for the recipe. I love healthy food. I’m sure my family will love this too. Nice!

    Like

What do YOU think? Do tell...

