DIY liqueurs

Right now, I am all about the potions.

Home made potions

It all started when a friend gave me sloe berries from her freezer – and the thorn from the sloe berry bush to prick them to release their juices.

As I added the pricked and bleeding sloe berries to the gin, I thought:

“The possibilities are endless.”

I drink rarely but when I do I like cocktails, and liqueurs. But I don’t like: the sicklyness of too much sugar, and additives instead of real ingredients.

So this Christmas, I concocted the following:

Apricots soaked in brandy – I used Hunza apricots which have a small stone and fine pedigree (one of the founders of the organic movement, Sir Robert McCarrison, learnt about nutrition in the 1920s from the Hunza tribe in Pakistan, so impressed was he by their health and vitality compared to sickly English people. The Hunzas are known for their longevity, thanks to their wholesome diet). Make sure the apricots are completely covered with the brandy. The apricots soak up the alcohol and swell, so leave room in your glass container for this effect.

Home-made Cointreau – organic orange peel from 2 – 3 oranges soaked in vodka

Home made whiskey zapper
Whiskey zapper – 200 mls whiskey + 300 mls expresso coffee + 400 mls coconut milk + agave nectar.

You don’t need to use expensive spirits – the natural flavours will enhance the potion.

Drink responsibly, and drink water too.

Happy shiny new 2016 year!

10 responses to “DIY liqueurs

  1. I toast to thee, Elisabeth! Happy New Year ❤

    Like

  2. Wonderful Elisabeth. And a very Hapshy New Year.
    John

    Like

  3. The orange vodka was divine. Not chemically or sickly. Inspired.

    Like

  4. The zapper really helped the new year go with a bang! A Decadent tipple without breaking the bank or your waistline. Thank you for sharing the recipe And the end product you generous purveyor of fiery, festive brews. No hangover today either come to think of it…. 🙂

    Like

  5. Cor blimey! this is great. I shall definitely try this and let you know. By the way, Happy New Year my friend!!

    Like

What do YOU think? Do tell...

