Simple recipe for energy bars – two ingredients 

 I love healthy energy bars.

I must spend a fortune on them. Thinks: must make my own.

Yes! And here is my simple recipe:

1 cup of ground nuts

(I whizzed pecan pieces in my £20 hand blender nut-chopper)

1 cup of dates, soaked in water for a couple of hours, drained with stones taken out.

(Measurements – basically equal amounts of nuts and dates).

Thus, blend (my trusty hand-blender again) the equal amounts of chopped/ground nuts with soaked-stoned dates.

The mix goes squidgy – good. Separate with your fingers and roll into balls.

No cooking involved!

Voila!

You could add other ingredients such as cacao and coconut and roll them in seeds. I will experiment and report here.

But, for now, two ingredients does it for me.

What do you think?

13 responses to “Simple recipe for energy bars – two ingredients 

  1. Hi Elisabeth, nothing appears for me on this post after the words “my simple”…

    Like

    • Yes…I was using my mobile phone app. Then the phone actually rang…and it got published prematurely by mistake. So, with haste I finished the blog post – must have been the quickest I have ever done, as I sat in my seat at the Theatre Royal waiting for curtain up on this most amazing production of Jane Eyre…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great idea! No sugar or fat added and still loads of tasty energy. Indeed, cheaper than bought bars.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Reminds me of my Zoom Ball recipe, courtesy of Rosemary Gladstar. I add sunflower and pumpkin seeds, coconut, guarana and tahini….sometimes ginseng and royal jelly….and they make a wonderful travel snack. Thanks for sharing and reminding me E!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Elisabeth,

    I hope you’re doing really well. I used to make some bites very similar to these with peanut butter in the place of chopped nuts. I sort of phased them out because of concerns about jumping on the ‘clean eating’ bandwagon (it’s still sugar!) and also provenance of cacao and dates (not exactly local!).

    However, some colleagues have been experimenting and over the past two days I must have eaten about 6 of these little balls of delight. I’m left wanting to make my own again.

    What do you think about my qualms?

    Hatti

    P.S. Sorry for the stream of consciousness!

    Like

    • Hi Hatti, I appreciate you sharing your reflections, and thinking and caring!

      I hope we will always be able to import (fair-traded, and sustainably farmed) food we cannot grow in our northern climate, such as chocolate and coffee and bananas and oranges and coconuts.

      To my mind, the local food issue is important because it highlights unnecessary imports, which undermine native produce.

      Take apples. As a result of a globalised and industrialised food system, many of the UK’s beautiful orchards have disappeared, supermarkets stock only a few varieties (the apples which travel well and keep their looks such as Golden Delicious), and millions of food miles are travelled unnecessarily.

      Hence the revival and celebration of local food.

      As for sugar, there is sugar – and sugar. I object deeply to processed food heavily laden with hidden sugar. I dislike white sugar because it has zero essential nutrients, and is hard work for the body. I prefer low-glycaemic, slow-release natural sweeteners – such as dates.

      In the end, I believe food choices come down to moderation – a little of what you fancy does you good – and, trusting how our bodies (because everyone’s is unique) feels after eating certain foods.

      Thank you for this great opportunity to expound, Hatti!!

      And, did I understand your concern right? What do you think?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes – you absolutely interpreted me correctly.

        I agree. I think the most important thing to recognise – which I know you do – is that there are lots of issues (flavour preferences, health and the often confusing realm of food science, environmental impacts, social concerns, traditions etc.) which can influence how we make our food choices.

        Of course, for each individual the weighting of these (and other) factors varies. It would be fantastic if everybody questioned themselves about where they stand. I’m still trying to figure out what my balance looks like which is why I wanted to ask you your thoughts.

        Such an interesting clutch of questions and issues. Thanks for responding so fully!

        x

        Like

      • Hi Hatti

        I agree. It is true that everyone has different concerns about food.

        It is also true that food has become a complex area of facts and counter-facts, and this bothers me.

        Which is why I also hope people use their own unique intuition and experience to assess whether this fact or this latest finding makes sense to them. Or ask, why does it not?

        Yes, I agree: the most important thing is reflection.

        Thank you, Hatti, for this interesting discussion!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Genius!!

    Like

  6. Voila!!
    I can’t think why I’ve never done this before! I’d add a naughty pinch of rock salt for that luxurious and oh so fashionable salty kick!
    I’ve got a bag of pecans left over from Christmas too-but no suitable processor (maybe That’s why !)

    Like

  7. A hand-blender is the one bit of fancy kitchen equipment I would be hard-pressed to live without! The Breville hand blender with mini-chopper (£19.99 from Argos) chops the nuts to perfection. Great for chopping garlic/herbs etc for sauces too.

    Like

What do YOU think? Do tell...

