Real food lover, Fay Winkler 

Grandmother and granddaughter shelling peas at kitchen table, both focused on task

My mother, Fay Winkler, died on the 11 January 2017.  My mother is the original real food lover, who inspires her family with a love of cooking and an ancestral knowledge about what makes real food.

I have often referenced my mother on this blog. And I am not going to stop now. For instance, we have inherited a huge file of recipes including traditional Jewish dishes made by my grandmother. I can’t believe I have not yet posted about Fay’s chicken soup. 

Fay’s pavlova
Fay’s home made mayonnaise
My grandmother’s beetroot soup
Fay’s fish soup with fennel

In my 2010 blog on Fay’s fish soup made with wild sea bass, she talks about her fishmonger, Pat, in Tachbrook Street market, London: “If he packs up, I’ll pack up” she says.

Fay and Pat the fishmonger go back a long way. Here they are in the 1980s.

Fay Winkler shopping from Pat Wright fishmonger Tachbrook Street Market London SW1 in the 1980s

 

 

 

Fay believes, “good food begins with good ingredients”.

“You can’t make a silk purse out of a sow’s ear,” she says.

You have to buy the best – be it organic, free-range, fresh, seasonal, local and/or artisan – to make a good meal, she says.

If the ingredients are good, no need for complicated recipes (as her mother said before her).

Ingredients, ingredients, ingredients. The only three words you need to know when it comes to cooking.

My beautiful mother aged 93

I love you, Fay.

 

14 responses to “Real food lover, Fay Winkler 

  1. Happy New Year.
    I’m sorry to hear of your loss. May her soul R.I.P.
    I see that you’ve inherited your mother’s recipes and, no doubt, you’ll lovingly share them with your cooking friends.
    Best wishes
    Nina Gaskell

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi, my condolences to you on the passing of your mother. I’m new here and looking forward to trying your & Mom’s recipes.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Geraldine Winkler

    Great you got glam Fay as well.

    Xx

    Geraldine Winkler Sent from my iPhone

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I am sorry for your loss. Your post is a beautiful tribute….

    Like

  5. Dear Elisabeth. I am so sorry to hear about your mother. I know this will be a huge loss for you. A lovely lady who has helped shape the woman that you are. May she rest in peace. John x

    Like

  6. Sending you love E. It is a loss I have endured, but like you, I honor my mother every time I conjure an herbal salve or some healthy nosh. It maintains our ancestral connection and reminds me why I am here! My Mom passed on January 9, 2007 and every day I am grateful for all her gifts to me, like compassion and kindness and an optimistic attitude! I can see your Mum gave you all that and more! Much love to you all!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. That is wonderful to hear, Jody. It is reassuring to hear that I will feel the same love and appreciation ten years later. Thank you!

    Like

  8. God bless your mother and heal your heart. Such a lovely tribute post. Xx

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Excellent generational connection with food and what an invaluable inheritance! Lovely article Elisabeth. Reading Fay’s relationship with what she cooked sounds so familiar! The 10th anniversary of my own mother’s death this year perhaps should be recognised with what she passed on to me – her passion & relationship with food and the joy of cooking and sharing the results! Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

What do YOU think? Do tell...

