Hello Kitty cake

Hello Kitty cake
It’s not often I go mainstream but basically my eldest daughter asked me to make a Hello Kitty cake for my granddaugher Tayda’s fourth birthday party in December (this blog is well-overdue) held at St Werburgh’s city farm.

A few days before I got baking, my eldest daughter had a nightmare about the cake-making.

I said: “Good. Prepare to be disappointed.”

I felt I had to manage expectations.

However, it turned out well. The cake tasted good and actually looked like Hello Kitty.

For the latter, I must thank the opportune arrival of my middle daughter who took over cake-decorating just as I was getting bored. She talked me down from “getting creative”, insisting we adhere to its original design.

So here’s the Hello Kitty birthday cake-making story plus recipes.

I started by looking online for a clear image I could print and trace.

I ended up on GirlyBubble, a website for “girlyness and cute stuff”. Yes, I was in alien territory but fearless in my quest for a clear image of Hello Kitty.

I printed the image and traced it by hand. I admired the clever simplicity of the design, neither round nor oval, and its trademark bow and whiskers.

I owe decoration-detail to Coolest Birthday Cakes where readers have submitted their Hello Kitty cake designs. How grateful am I to the web and its culture of sharing?

Then it was time for real-life cake-decoration shopping at my local sweet shop on the independent-tastic Gloucester Road  (one of the last independent high streets in the UK).

Scrumptiously Sweet is a traditional sweet shop offering attentive service and saintly patience as I agonised over icing tubes, jelly beans and marshmallow pipes.

Side-view of Hello Kitty

We used bootlace liquorice to outline Hello Kitty’s head and ears, her bow, whiskers and nose.

We squeezed out Dr Oetker Designer Icing to fill in the red of the bow.

And encircled the lower base of the cake with pink marshmallow Flumps (you can see the join in the pic below).

Hello Kitty cake

Hello Kitty Cake and Icing recipes

I owe everything to All Recipes.com and its Foolproof Sponge Cake. It is truly foolproof for I am the fool, and here is the proof.

I made two sponges, one square, one round.

IMG_8402

The deeper square one (above) was sliced through its middle and filled and covered with pink buttercream icing.

Hello Kitty "face"

The smaller sponge (above) was baked in a round flan tin, requiring only some trimming with a sharp knife to become Kitty-shaped. This sponge had white icing to contrast with its bigger pink base.

Recipe for Foolproof Sponge Cake

No need to cream butter and sugar. Instead, sieve the flour and mix in the other ingredients. I used organic ingredients for health of people and planet, and butter not marge. It seemed strange to cook a sponge for a whole hour – but it worked. Brilliantly.

Serves: 12

340g (12 oz) self-raising flour | 280g (10 oz) caster sugar | 280g (10 oz) butter (or margarine) | 5 eggs |3 tablespoons milk (or soya milk) |

1. Grease and line two 20cm (8 inch) square or round tins and set aside. I used an 8 inch square tin and an 8 inch round flan tin, and did not skimp on the greaseproof lining paper.

2. Pre-heat the oven to 150 C / Gas 2, or 140 C for fan ovens.

3. Sieve self-raising flour into a mixing bowl, add the sugar and butter, then the eggs. I used my electric hand-blender, adding one egg at a time, blending after each one, until all ingredients were amalgamated. Once blended, some extra fast whizzes. The result: a thickish smooth batter.

4. Pour into the tins, place in centre of oven and cook for about 1 hour 15 mins, to 1 hour 30 mins. All Recipes says test with skewer: if it comes out clean, the cake is done.

Thank you All Recipes.com. Now a huge big shout-out to HonieMummyBlog for Perfect Butter Icing – perfect indeed! – and a genius selection of different quantities. Again, gratitude.

Honnie Mummie Perfect Butter icing

250 g / 8 oz butter | 500 g / 1 lb icing sugar | 4 teaspoons milk

For base (not Hello Kitty face), we carefully added drop-by-drop red colouring for a pinky effect, and mixed before adding the next drop.

I made the cakes on the Thursday, the butter icing on Friday, and assembled it all on Saturday – party day. 

And did not disgrace my family.

IMG_8426

Here is the cake nibbled down to its essential Hello Kitty-ness.

And here’s a under-1-minute video of the cake at Tayda’s party.

6 responses to “Hello Kitty cake

  1. It looks lovely. With all the do’s and don’ts and latest crazes for children’s birthday parties these days …. One thing I always insist on is ‘making the cake myself’.

    Thanks for the shout out. I’m glad that you found the butter cream recipe and quantities useful. I’ve added some more recent luxury cake toppings (including one with mascarpone cheese and Manuka honey).

    Even with all the cookery books I’ve acquired over the years, you can’t beat the recommendations and advice of fellow ‘foodies’.
    I hope your granddaughter had a lovely birthday

    HonieMummy aka @HonieBuk

    Like

  2. Hi @HonieBuk

    Thanks for your comment.

    Yes, home made cakes are a must! That makes me feel better about going corporate with the Hello Kitty brand…

    Icing made with Mascarpone cheese and Manuka honey? You are talking my language! Thanks for another great recipe.

    Elisabeth

    Like

  3. I’d love to see the video…it says it’s private. Fantastic cake and hilarious commentary (getting bored with cake design?..that can’t be right!)

    Like

  4. It turned out more than ‘well’! It was a grand success! How all the children crowded round in fixated awe, some murmuring, some gasping, some shouting, but all the same words; ‘Hello Kitty Hello Kitty Hello Kitty!’. There was no mistake, She was really there. And the cake was delicious enough to be enjoyed by everyone, adults and children. Unlike so many birthday cakes where the kids just eat the icing off, this time all the plates were empty. The only problem was that the likeness of Hello Kitty was so vivid that the creators couldn’t bear to cut her face (ow) til the next day, so portions handed out were very small – hopefully I’ll repair the family reputation next party.

    Like

    • AW thanks! Wow, was Hello Kitty actually THERE? Did I channel the corporate cat herself?! What a thrilling thought! And no pressure for any future cake requests,right?

      Like

What do YOU think? Do tell...

